My Italian word of the day: spaventato

La Parola del Giorno

La Parola del Giorno

I have set myself the challenge of translating ‘Storia di una Capinera’ by Giovanni Verga into English at the rate of a word a day.

Verga: Storia di una capinera (book cover)

Verga: Storia di una capinera (book cover)

___________

 The next new word in the text is ‘spavenato’.

My dictionary gives this as:

spaventato (agg m) = frightened, scared, terrified

___________

 Here is an example:

Un personaggio spaventato fugge il più velocemente possibile dalla fonte della paura. = A frightened person flees as fast as possible from the source of fear.

___________

The story so far

 Original text:

Storia di una capinera

 Avevo visto una povera capinera chiusa in gabbia: era timide, triste, malaticcia ci guardava con occhio spaventato;

My translation:

Story of a blackcap

 I had seen a poor blackcap locked in a cage: it was timid, sad, sickly it watched us with terrified eye;

an alternative:

I have seen a poor blackcap locked in a cage: timid, sad and sickly it watched us with a terrified eye;

___________

Vocabulary:

The vocabulary has been moved to its own page.

Please click here       >>> * VOCABOLARIO * <<<

___

Navigation:

<<
Previous Italian Word of the Day: occhio Next Italian Word of the Day: si >>

___________

Leave a comment