The Malvern Hills

Like the Forest of Dean, the Malvern hills have always been a part of my life. When I was born, my Grandmother lived here.  I lived here for a while in West Malvern in a house called the Highlands.

Malvern Hills looking towards the British Camp

Malvern Hills looking towards the British Camp

In a somer sesun, whon softe was the sonne,
I schop me into a shroud, as I a scheep were;
In habite as an hermite unholy of werkes
Wente I wyde in this world wondres to here;
Bote in a Mayes morwnynge on Malverne hulles
Me bifel a ferly, of fairie, me-thoughte.
I was wery, forwandred, and wente me to reste
Undur a brod banke bi a bourne side;
And as I lay and leonede and lokede on the watres,
I slumbrede in a slepynge, hit swyed so murie.

These lines are taken from the Prologue of The Vision of Piers Plowman by William Langland

Malvern Hills looking towards the Worcestershire Beacon

Malvern Hills looking towards the Worcestershire Beacon

Leave a Reply

