Mildmay Club, Newington Green

In 1967, I was out of work for a while. At one point during this time I worked as a potman in the Mildmay Club. My uncle was a barman at the club and got me the job. My job was to collect glasses from the tables and wash and dry them. Although, I didn’t serve behind the bar, I was bought drinks by the customers. The custom was to accept the tip as a bottled half pint (light ale, for example). We were not allowed to drink while working, so the bottles mounted up, quickly. When the club closed we drank our beer while tidying up and sometimes hung about ’til late playing cards (brag?) and finishing the beer.

http://newingtongreen.org.uk/image/mildmay-club-34-newington-green-n16-9pr

Leave a Reply

